Skip to content

More on the Press

March 6, 2010

With the press, there is much to learn. Luckly, I am a research junkie. I get on a topic of interest and I will read anything and everything about it.  Here are a few photos of the press- problems, solutions, and just plain fun. (I am turning into one of those bloggers who only post photos of their cat press..)

Letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, platen press, tutta lou press, seattle letterpress, rebuilding a letterpress, letterpress parts

Chandler, looking so sad with out his ink disk

letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, seattle letterpress, custom letterpress, tutta lou press, letterpress part

Chandler think this is his best side, so I thought I would show it here.

letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, seattle letterpress, custom letterpress, tutta lou press, letterpress part, painting a printing press

Painting the fly wheel last week (They have better spray paint colors at Fred Myer than they do Lowes, which I discovered after the fact).

letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, seattle letterpress, custom letterpress, tutta lou press, letterpress part, painting a printing press, blue wheel, blue fly wheel

His newly painted wheel!

letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, seattle letterpress, custom letterpress, tutta lou press, letterpress part, cleaning a letterpress

Here is the coveted ink disk when it arrived.  Very gross. I used navel jelly to clean the rust off of it. I know I have mentioned the press is very heavy, thus the disk itself weights 40+ pounds.

letterpress, chandler and price, printing press, seattle letterpress, custom letterpress, tutta lou press, letterpress part, painting a printing press, adjusting rollers, raising rollers

Once I got the ink disk installed, I could finally put on the new rollers I bought for the press. Then, finally, I inked up the press. It did this though. Did what, you say? You see how there is green all over the base (big square with gridlines)? There shouldn’t be any ink on it; the ink should only be on the two wood letters ‘S’ and ‘R’ to the left. This means that the roller are to close to the base. I used several layers of tape on the rails to raise the rollers. Sorry, no photo of this, yet.

Once that was done, I printed these!

letterpress cards, letterpress seattle, letterpress, custom letterpress

Not to bad for a beginner! These little cards where fun to make and I cannot wait until my polymer plates get here this week. I will be a printing maniac!

(Again, sorry for the crummy photos; the iphone tries very hard though.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:35 pm

    Awesome! So exciting. There are a few decent photos of the press and studio on my Flickr photostream…you should become my friend on Flickr and download them at least for your own record. Love the colorful fly wheel!

Leave a Reply

