Skip to content

Architect, or Whatever

January 21, 2010

architecture 5 cents

I came across this article last night in the NY Times. It basically illustrates the architecture and industrial design industries as being hit quite hard in the recession. Now, I didn’t need the NY Times to tell me the industry has been hit hard, more than half of my architecture friends are unemployed or only partially employed. The article covers what others are doing to make ends meet: opening up ice cream mobiles, making stuffed animals and throwing pottery. The nice thing about most architects is that we all work well with constraints. All projects I  encountered had them and I worked through them one at a time. Opening a press is quite similar: one obstacle at a time. As the article points out, other lost architects have managed to get on their feet by being industrious. I hope to add my name to that list.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:47 am

    Totally thought of you when I saw this article. Almost emailed it to you…

    Hugs!

    Neals

Leave a Reply

