Skip to content

Cat Out of the Bag…

January 12, 2010

I have mentioned a few times that I am working on a “surprize “or “hopefully, I’ll have some good news to share…”

Well, that day hasn’t actually come, but I have decided to share the new anyways….I am starting a Letterpress Studio.

At the moment it feels (looks?) like my printing process will look more like this…

letterpress printing with a steam roller

source

and less like this…

satsuma press, letterpress, letter writing, hand written note, notecards, art, ink,

{from the wonderful Satsuma Press}

My press (who I have already named Chandler), comes from my uncle Bruce, who has used it as a die press for 10+ years. Chandler has to be converted back into a printing press. No sweat, you say? One would think it to be easy living in the era of la intra-net, but, re-assembling a press from 1926 is no easy feat! 

Parts are coming from all over and I am learning something new everyday. As soon as the website is a bit more polished, I will put that info up here as well. I am learning way to much about how the internet works these days!

And once I have some finished product, there will be a give-away, too (I hear people like free stuff as much as I do.)! Stay tuned…

One Comment leave one →
  1. mieke permalink
    January 12, 2010 6:51 pm

    sarah!
    congratulations on the letterpressing! that awesome.
    I hope you had a nice holiday. Happy New year.
    (oh and thanks for the lovely words on my jewelry. you are too kind)

Leave a Reply

