Skip to content

Baskets!

December 29, 2009

pier1, baskets, pier one

For Christmas, my brother’s sweet girlfriend gave these fun baskets from Pier1 as gifts. They are quite beautifully crafted and it was a nice surprise to see that they were made of recycled newspaper. Of course we all wanted to know if she had made them. It got me thinking that I could make perfectly sized baskets for loose items around the apartment.

newsprint basket, basket weaving

Lucky me, it turns out that How About Orange has a tutorial on how to make newsprint baskets. I was thinking that I could also use wrapping paper for color or even that jumbo roll of kraft paper for a minimalist look! The tutorial shows wide strips, but I think that you could go smaller or roll the strips for a tighter and studier basket. 

newsprint basket

Let the basket-weaving jokes rip!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

